About the Northeastern Wisconsin Baseball League

newbl-logoThe Northeastern Wisconsin Baseball League is a top-tier, wooden bat, adult semi-professional baseball league located in northeastern Wisconsin. Players in the league are considered amateur status, are not paid and consist mostly of current college baseball players, as well as former college and professional players.

As of 2020, the league consists of four member organizations across northeastern Wisconsin. Cities with teams include Appleton (Legends), Greater Green Bay (Blue Ribbons), Green Bay (Storm), Kewaskum (A’s) Menasha (Macs), Sheboygan (A’s) and West Allis (Nationals).

Former league organizations include the Antigo Cardinals, De Pere River Bandits, Eau Claire Cavaliers, Green Bay Billys, Kaukauna Kattledogs, Little Chute River Bandits, Oshkosh Giants, Marinette Redbirds and the Manitowoc Bandits.

Teams in the NEWBL play each team four times which consists of two home and home games against each league opponent. At the end of the regular season, the league hosts a playoff. New as of 2015, all teams participate in the playoffs, with the top two seeds in the regular season getting a first round bye. The first round features the #3 seed hosting #6, and #4 hosting #5 in a single game elimination. The winners then advance, with the lowest remaining seed playing at #1, and the highest remaining seed playing at #2, each in single game elimination games.  The winners of each semi-final game advance to play in the championship series, a best-of-three format with the highest remaining seed hosting games one and three, and the lowest seed hosting game two. The winner of the championship series is the league champion.

Past League Champions

2019 – Appleton Legends
2018 – Appleton Legends
2017 – Menasha Macs
2016 – Menasha Macs (defeated Green Bay in playoff championship)
2015 – Menasha Macs (defeated Sheboygan in playoff championship)
2014 – Menasha Macs (defeated Sheboygan in playoff championship)
2013 – Menasha Macs (defeated Sheboygan in playoff championship)
2012 – Green Bay Storm (defeated Menasha in playoff championship)
2011 – Manitowoc Bandits (defeated Sheboygan in playoff championship)
2010 – Green Bay Storm (defeated Appleton in playoff championship)
2009 – Menasha Macs (defeated Green Bay in playoff championship)
2008 – Manitowoc Bandits (defeated Sheboygan in playoff championship)
2007 – Manitowoc Bandits (defeated Green Bay in playoff championship)
2006 – Appleton Legends (regular season champion)
2005 – Menasha Macs (regular season champion)
2004 – Appleton Legends (regular season champion)
2003 – Appleton Legends (regular season champion)
2002 – Appleton Legends (regular season champion)
2001 – Appleton Legends (regular season champion)